How I Ended My Toxic Relationships and You Can too in 2021!

My first journey to self discovery

Neil Nkoyock
6 min readJan 11, 2021
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

After graduating high school, I fell out with my main group of friends. Well, it’s more accurate to say that I cut them all out of my life…. AND I’D DO IT AGAIN BAP BAP! Then the Covid-19 pandemic struck and I was in lockdown. Through the isolation and loneliness, I got to know different sides of people. People who I thought sucked, surprised me by not being as bad as I thought they were. Though the opposite was true for people who I thought were my friends. While I was having a conversation with one of my friends about relationships, I had an epiphany. Was I in a toxic relationship???

Once this idea was stuck in my head I did what I always do. I immediately went to someone that usually has all the answers I’m looking for. Google. It made me realise how unhealthy my relationship was with my so-called group of friends. One friend in particular was the most annoying. I consider myself a loyal friend so I did what any friend would do, stuck by him. At the same time he caused me the most stress and disappointment. The fact that I was so happy being away from that relationship despite being stuck in lockdown really opened my eyes. Toxic relationships come in all. So take those rose coloured glasses off and smack a b*tch (but not really, I don’t support violence)…

--

--

Neil Nkoyock

Hi, welcome to my profile. I use writing as an outlet. I get stuck in my own head a lot so I hope to get things off my chest while helping others too!